Planning Board

The Planning Board is responsible for development and growth management within the town. The board is responsible for the town's Master Plan, as well as zoning, subdivisions and site plan review. Members are elected in March and serve staggered terms.

New Hampshire law gives the Planning Board three major responsibilities:
  • Planning for future needs and growth of the Town of Barnstead. The board works with citizens to articulate a vision of what Barnstead may become in the future.
  • Adopting or recommending Codes, Ordinances and Rules that can help turn that vision into a reality.
  • Regulation of the development, subdivision and use of land in the town to help contribute to the future vision.

The Barnstead Planning Board meets every first Thursday of the month at 6:00pm in the Town Hall for a business session. Work sessions meet on the third Thursday of select months. Minutes of the meetings are available for public viewing in the office or online.

All meetings are open to the public and we encourage public attendance.

Contact the Planning Board

Staff Contacts

Board Members

Name Title
Nancy Carr Chair (2024)
Elaine Swinford Vice Chair (2022)
David Kerr Secretary (2022)
Mike Cipriano Member (2023)
Katherine Preston Member (2023)
Dale Twitchell Member (2024)
Matthew Furtney Alternate
Rick Therrien Selectmen's Representative
Diane Beijer Selectmen's Representative, Alternate