BOARD OF SELECTMEN

Tuesday, June 21, 2022 Meeting Minutes

CALL TO ORDER:

The meeting was called to order at 5:00 pm. by Chairman Therrien.

Present: Chairman Therrien; Vice Chair Beijer; Board Members Gary Madden, Paula Penney, Edward Tasker; & Town Administrator Karen Montgomery. There were 6 members of the public in attendance.

NON-PUBLIC: R. Therrien made a motion to go into nonpublic session at 5:08 pm per RSA 91-A:3 II (b) seconded by D. Beijer. The Board was polled and voted as: R. Therrien - yes; D. Beijer - yes; G. Madden - yes; P. Penney - yes; E. Tasker - yes. The Board came out of non-public session at 5:19pm.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Everyone present participated in the Pledge of Allegiance.

ACTION ITEMS: The Board reviewed and approved the following items: Payroll & Manifest, one Junk Yard License renewal, and Letters of Hire. Vice Chair C. Beijer motioned to accept the minutes from the June 7, 2022 meeting, seconded by G. Madden and passed with a unanimous vote.

NEW BUSINESS: The paving projects around Town were discussed. Chief Poirier requested the invoice for a Back Flow Preventer for the irrigation at the flag memorial at the Police Station be paid out of the Town Hall budget. Following a brief discussion, D. Beijer motioned for the \$930 to come from the flag memorial donation account. P. Penney seconded the motion and it passed with a unanimous vote.

Vice Chair Beijer stated a check was received in the amount of \$43,362.50 as the reimbursement portion of the diesel trunk grant.

INFORMATIONAL ITEMS: P. Penney addressed the Board regarding the bandstand on the Parade grounds, stating that it needed shingles and flooring repairs. She inquired if the Board paid for the materials perhaps volunteers could do the work D. Beijer added that it needed to be painted as well. It was determined that the project would be put on the website.

Public Announcements: D. Adjutant, Historical Society President announced the 50 year anniversary of the Historical Society and invited the public to attend the event June 29th, at 7 pm here at Town Hall.

APPOINTMENTS: The 6:00 p.m. appointment did not appear.

PUBLIC INPUT: Vice-Chair D. Beijer read aloud a statement that was released from the Superintendent Tim Broderick regarding the School incident. Mr. Steven Royer stated he sent a letter in dated June 9, 2022 to the Board of Selectmen regarding the School Incident; but feels his questions were not answered. Chairman Therrien explained that the incident was taken over by the State Police and Belknap County. Chief Poirier answered S. Royer's questions and assured him that the situation was handled from start to finish. Another town was on duty for Barnstead, but had the same events taking place in their town, so State Police and Belknap County was dispatched. The Chief had information on the suspect early on that the public was not aware of and was not at liberty to share. He commended the response of the Fire Rescue Department, but would not have put the school in lock down. S. Royer stated he would like to see a fulltime SRO in the school and was advised to go to the School Board. Chairman Therrien stated that he understood Royer's concern, as his wife and sister work there too but there was more danger outside, than inside the school and that this unfortunately is the new norm.

The Chief investigated the dumping of tires on Will Smith Road and found out that the owner of the property was building a protective barrier for his kids for their dirt bikes.

The Chief announced that the armed robber of the Bosco Bell Store had been arrested.

NON-PUBLIC: D. Beijer made a motion to go into nonpublic session at 6:10 pm per RSA 91-A:3 II (c) seconded by P. Penney. The Board was polled and voted as: R. Therrien - yes; D. Beijer - yes; G. Madden - yes; P. Penney - yes; E. Tasker - yes. The Board came out of non-public session at 7:03 pm.

ADJOURNMENT: On a motion by P. Penney, seconded by G. Madden the Board voted unanimously to adjourn the meeting at 7:03 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,	
MaryJane Dascoli Recording Secretary	
Chairman R. Therrien	Vice-Chair D. Beijer
G. Madden	P. Penney
E. Tasker	